About NFA

The National Fire Authority (NFA) was established by Government to take effect from 1st February 1995 when it assumed responsibility to provide a national fire service. NFA took over the fire service, which was then operated by the Board of Fire Commissioners of Suva and the Municipal Councils.

NFA has since evolved over the years from its informal beginnings to a nation-wide emergency service organization, providing a diverse range of risk reduction and fire suppression services to minimize the impact of fires and other life threatening emergencies in the community.

NFA is wholly committed to prevention, preparedness, response and recovery phases of emergency situations.

In exercising its powers under the National Fire Service Act, the NFA’s responsibilities include:

  • The corporate governance of the NFA including the establishment of sub-committees
  • Administration and operations of the national fire services
  • Establishing strategies and objectives
  • Monitoring the performance of management
  • Ensuring effective and efficient communication with all stakeholders
  • Appointment of officers of the NFA except for the  CEO  who  is  appointed  by  the Minister
  • Ensuring an effective human resources program for the NFA
  • Overseeing the development strategies for senior and high performance officers

In order to streamline communications and better administer the organisation, the Authority established three (3) fire divisions namely: Central/Eastern, Northern and Western Fire Divisions, and appointed Divisional Fire Officers to head these three divisions. Today there are 21 fire stations around Fiji serving of of which 8 were commissioned in the past five years. 


Established by virtue of the National Fire Service Act, 1994 the National Fire Authority assumed responsibilities to provide fire services for the entire nation of Fiji in February 1995.


  Join our Facebook page


Address :

Argo Street, Walu Bay, Suva

Phone :

3312 877/3312 145/
3313 419/ 3313 091